National Park Quarters

National Park Quarters with rotating reverse designs started entering U.S. circulation in 2010, and they will continue through to 2021. Each year will feature five new designs.

2014 National Park Quarters

There are now forty-four quarters in the series released. Upcoming is the last of the five for 2018, the Block Island quarter for Rhode Island. It launches into circulation and becomes available in United States Mint rolls and bags at on November 13, 2018. Two days later, on November 15, it makes a public appearance in an official release ceremony hosted by the U.S. Mint and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

National Park Quarters by Year and State

For a review of the National Park Quarters by year or location, please click on one of the links above.

The quarter-dollar legislation to create commemorative quarters honoring national parks and national sites in each state, D.C. and U.S. Territory was introduced in both the House and Senate in June 2008.

The legislation was very popular. It quickly passed in the House on July 9, 2008 and then passed the Senate on December 10, 2008. President Bush signed the bill into law on December, 23, 2008.

Check the menus at top and to the sides for the latest information. Here is a short summary of the quarters bill, officially dubbed the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008:

  • It requires quarter dollars beginning in 2010 to have designs on the reverse emblematic of one national site in each state, the District of Columbia and territory of the United States.

  • It instructed the Secretary of the Treasury to select national parks and sites to be honored with a reverse quarter design.

  • It instructs the Secretary, and thereby the United States Mint, to strike and make available for sale silver bullion coins that are exact duplicates of quarter-dollars.

  • It authorizes the Director of the National Park Service to purchase for resale or distribution numismatic items issued under this Act.

On September 9, 2009, the U.S. Mint officially announced the name for the series, calling it the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program. It also released the order of sites to be featured on each coin. (See a listing of quarter sites and release dates.)

Stay tuned to this site for upcoming announcements about National Park Quarters, and make sure to read our latest news.